Gymdesk review
Started in martial arts, grew into general gym software — the most transparent pricing table in the category.
Gymdesk began life as martial-arts-specific software (it still ships belt/rank tracking no one else in this catalog offers) and grew into a full gym-management platform for CrossFit boxes, yoga and dance studios and general fitness clubs. Its pricing table is as clean as it gets: five published tiers by member count from $75/mo, every core feature included at every tier, no setup fee and no contract.
Great
FitBizStack score · 6 weighted factors
Headline
$75/mo
True cost
$75–$200/mo
Advertising disclosure. We may earn a commission when you sign up through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Commissions never influence our scores or rankings — editorial independence is the whole point.
Scorecard
How we scored Gymdesk
Six weighted categories. Weights are published and identical for every platform.
What we like
- Fully published 5-tier pricing table by member count ($75–$200/mo, up to 400 members) — no setup fee, no contract, cancel anytime
- 30-day free trial, no credit card required
- The only platform in this catalog built for martial arts (belt/rank tracking) while still covering CrossFit, yoga, dance and general fitness
- Outstanding B2B reviews: Capterra 4.8/5 (148 reviews) and G2 4.8/5 (21 reviews), with a stand-out 4.9/5 customer-service subscore
- Every core feature — billing, POS, booking, marketing, reporting — included at every tier; only door access, a branded app and extra locations cost more
What we don’t
- No CrossFit-native programming, WOD builder or leaderboards — this is general gym management, not a box-native specialist
- Member-facing app ratings are more modest than the B2B scores: 4.3/5 on Google Play (63 reviews) and 3.7/5 on the App Store (45 ratings) — both small samples
- Door access ($100/mo + hardware), a branded app ($100/mo) and extra locations ($50/mo each) add up quickly if you need them
- 400+ members breaks the otherwise fully published ladder and requires a custom quote
At a glance
Gymdesk in four numbers
Started in martial arts, grew into general gym software — the most transparent pricing table in the category.
$75
Entry tier, up to 50 members
4.8
Capterra rating (148 reviews)
4.8
G2 rating (21 reviews)
$0
Setup fee — none
01 Gymdesk
The short verdict
Gymdesk started life as martial-arts-specific software — it was called Martial Arts on Rails, and it still ships belt/rank tracking that nothing else in this catalog offers — and grew into a full gym-management platform for CrossFit boxes, yoga and dance studios, and general fitness clubs. Its pricing table is as clean as this category gets: five published tiers by member count from $75/mo, every core feature included at every tier, no setup fee and no contract.
B2B reviewers love it — 4.8/5 on Capterra (148 reviews) and 4.8/5 on G2 (21 reviews), with a standout 4.9/5 customer-service subscore on Capterra. Its own member-facing app is more modest: 4.3/5 on Google Play (63 reviews) and 3.7/5 on the App Store (45 ratings), both small samples.
02 Gymdesk
Who Gymdesk is for
Martial arts schools
(BJJ, MMA, karate, taekwondo) that want belt/rank tracking built in — a niche this catalog hasn’t covered until now.
Any gym owner who wants the most transparent pricing table in the category
5 published tiers, no setup fee, no contract, cancel anytime.
Multi-purpose fitness facilities
(CrossFit, yoga, dance, gymnastics) that want one flat bill with every core feature included.
It is the wrong fit if official CrossFit programming, a WOD builder or leaderboards are the point — Wodboard or SugarWOD are the specialists there.
03 Gymdesk
Gymdesk pricing in 2026, explained
The official pricing page lists five tiers by member count, and states plainly: no setup fees, no contracts, no cancellation cost.
| Plan | Members | Monthly |
|---|---|---|
| Micro Gym | Up to 50 | $75 |
| Small Gym | 51–100 | $100 |
| Medium Gym | 101–200 | $150 |
| Large Gym | 201–400 | $200 |
| Enterprise | 400+ | Custom quote |
Same features at every tier
Unlimited staff accounts, a responsive gym website and every released feature are included from the $75/mo floor. You only pay more for door access, a branded member app, or additional locations.
The free trial runs 30 days with no credit card required — longer than most of this catalog’s 7–14-day trials.
04 Gymdesk
What you will really pay
Most single-location gyms (up to 400 members) land in the $75–$200/mo range with nothing else added. The add-ons that push the bill up are optional, not required.
| Item | Price |
|---|---|
| Door access (beta) | $100/mo for up to 3 doors, +$29/mo per extra door |
| Branded member app | $100/mo (first month free) |
| Additional location | $50/mo per location |
Processing rate not disclosed
Gymdesk does not publish a payment-processing rate on its pricing page, but it is a listed Stripe partner — we model the Stripe-standard rate (~2.9% + $0.30) in the calculator below since no Gymdesk-specific number is available.
Beyond 400 members, Gymdesk reverts to a custom quote like most of this catalog eventually does.
05 Gymdesk
What the platform includes
Billing & payments
Automatic collection, failed-payment recovery and overdue alerts, built into every tier.
Member management
Unlimited plans, ranks, programs and family accounts, plus kiosk, barcode or phone check-in.
Belt/rank tracking
Purpose-built for martial arts schools — the only platform in this catalog with this feature.
Scheduling, marketing and POS
Class booking, email/SMS campaigns, referral tools, retail sales and inventory, all included.
What is missing
No CrossFit-native programming, WOD builder or leaderboards, and no AI tools.
06 Gymdesk
What gym owners and members say
B2B review sites are glowing: 4.8/5 on Capterra across 148 reviews (Ease of Use 4.7, Customer Service 4.9) and 4.8/5 on G2 across 21 reviews — both comfortably above the category average.
The member-facing app tells a more modest story: 4.3/5 on Google Play (63 reviews) and 3.7/5 on the App Store (45 ratings). Both are small samples, but the gap between the owner-facing praise and the member-facing app score is worth knowing before you commit.
Pricing, decoded
What Gymdesk really costs
Public 5-tier ladder by member count, every core feature included at every tier; optional add-ons for door access, a branded app and extra locations.
The true-cost curve
Gymdesk subscription by number of members · before add-ons and card fees · estimated
Hover the curve to read any roster size
10 members
$75/mo
100 members
$100/mo
250 members
$200/mo
Above 400 members, Gymdesk prices by quote.
Headline price
$75/mo
What the marketing shows
True monthly cost
$75–$200/mo covers most single-location gyms (up to 400 members) — add $100/mo each if you want door access or a branded member app
What you actually pay
| Plan | Monthly billing | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Micro Gym | 75/mo | Up to 50 members; every core feature included |
| Small Gym | 100/mo | 51–100 members |
| Medium Gym | 150/mo | 101–200 members |
| Large Gym | 200/mo | 201–400 members |
| Enterprise | Quote | 400+ members |
Common add-ons
- Door access (beta)$100/mo for up to 3 doors, +$29/mo per extra door
- Branded member app$100/mo (first month free)
- Additional location$50/mo per location
Payment processing
Not publicly disclosed — Gymdesk is a listed Stripe partner, so we model the Stripe-standard rate
True-cost calculator
See the true monthly cost, not the headline.
- Base plan
- $150
- Processing (2.90%)
- $348
- Add-ons
- $0
- True cost / month
- $498
Switch to to see the ~15% savings.
Headline was $75/mo. Estimated — vendor is quote-based.
Honest cons
Who should NOT buy Gymdesk
- CrossFit boxes that want official programming, a WOD builder or leaderboards built in — Wodboard or SugarWOD are the specialists there.
- Gyms past 400 members that want a published number instead of a custom quote.
- Anyone who weighs the member-facing app heavily — its ratings are more modest than Gymdesk’s glowing B2B scores.
FAQ
Gymdesk: frequently asked questions
How much does Gymdesk cost in 2026?
Gymdesk publishes five tiers by member count: $75/mo (up to 50 members), $100/mo (51–100), $150/mo (101–200) and $200/mo (201–400). Beyond 400 members it is a custom quote. There is no setup fee and no contract. Checked on gymdesk.com/pricing on September 30, 2026.
Is Gymdesk only for martial arts schools?
No, though it started there — it was originally called Martial Arts on Rails and still includes belt/rank tracking. Today it serves CrossFit gyms, yoga and dance studios, gymnastics centers and general fitness clubs too.
Does Gymdesk include CrossFit programming or a WOD builder?
No. Gymdesk is general gym management — billing, scheduling, POS, member management. For official CrossFit programming, score logging and leaderboards, see Wodboard or SugarWOD instead.
Why is Gymdesk’s app rating lower than its Capterra/G2 scores?
Capterra (4.8/5) and G2 (4.8/5) reflect gym-owner satisfaction with the back-office software. The member-facing mobile app is rated separately and more modestly — 4.3/5 on Google Play (63 reviews) and 3.7/5 on the App Store (45 ratings) — both small samples, but a real gap worth knowing about.
Does Gymdesk have an affiliate or referral program?
It has a referral program, but it is restricted to existing Gymdesk customers (100% commission on a referred gym’s first three payments) — not an open affiliate program for content publishers or bloggers.
How we verified this review
Gymdesk’s own pricing page was checked on September 30, 2026. Ratings come from Capterra, G2, Google Play and the Apple App Store, checked the same day — we confirmed the correct app listings (developer: Martial Arts on Rails LLC) to avoid confusion with an unrelated India-based product using a similar name. Scores follow our published methodology. Gymdesk’s referral program is customer-only; no commission-based affiliate program for content publishers could be found.
Related
Compare Gymdesk with the alternatives
Head-to-heads
Similar platforms
Is Gymdesk your pick?
Take the quiz to see how it stacks up against your exact needs, or check the live pricing on their site.