#24 in gymGym & studio management#34 of 38 overall

Amilia review

Recreation-management software for YMCAs, camps, swim schools and parks & rec departments — two published tiers from $99/mo, but the lowest-rated client app in this catalog (1.6/5).

Amilia (product name: SmartRec) is built for a different buyer than the rest of this catalog — YMCAs, JCCs, community and arts centers, parks & recreation departments, camps, swim schools, and youth sports leagues, rather than gyms or studios. Two tiers are published down to the dollar: Standard $99/mo (up to 5,000 active accounts, 10 facilities) and Advanced $499/mo (up to 10,000 accounts, 20 facilities, two premium add-ons included), both with a stated 1% service fee on every invoice plus card or eCheck processing. A Custom tier for large public agencies is quote-only. Implementation is a real added cost the headline price hides: $899 for Standard, $2,999 for Advanced. Capterra rates it 4.3/5 across 148 reviews — solid, but ease of use lags at 4.1/5, with reviewers calling the system hard to learn. The clearest weak spot: the member-facing Amilia app is rated just 1.6/5 across 77 App Store ratings, the lowest member app in this entire catalog.

YMCAs, JCCs, community/arts centers, parks & recreation departments, camps and swim schools — not a fit for most gyms or studios in this catalogOrganizations that want transaction and implementation costs spelled out up front rather than discovered after signingYouth sports leagues and multi-program community organizations needing a single system for registration, facilities and payments
Visit Amilia See the true costPrices verified Oct 8, 2026

Good

FitBizStack score · 6 weighted factors

Headline

$99/mo

True cost

$99–$499/mo

Advertising disclosure. We may earn a commission when you sign up through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Commissions never influence our scores or rankings — editorial independence is the whole point.

Scorecard

How we scored Amilia

Six weighted categories. Weights are published and identical for every platform.

Value for money25% weight
7.0
Features & depth22% weight
8.0
Ease of use16% weight
6.5
Client / member experience15% weight
3.5
Pricing transparency12% weight
8.0
Support & onboarding10% weight
8.3

What we like

  • Two tiers published to the dollar — Standard $99/mo (5,000 accounts) and Advanced $499/mo (10,000 accounts) — with transaction fees and implementation costs stated up front rather than hidden
  • Deep feature set for its niche: 50+ pre-built reports, community segments, multi-facility and multi-store support built specifically for recreation and community programs
  • Capterra support sub-score of 4.6/5, generally praised despite some cited phone wait times
  • Generous account ceilings relative to price — Standard alone covers up to 5,000 active accounts and 10 facilities for $99/mo
  • A genuinely different niche from the rest of this catalog — YMCAs, camps and parks & rec departments, not gyms or studios

What we don’t

  • The member-facing Amilia app is rated just 1.6/5 across 77 App Store ratings — the lowest-rated client app in this entire catalog
  • Implementation fees are real money the monthly price hides: $899 upfront for Standard, $2,999 for Advanced
  • Capterra ease-of-use sub-score is the softest metric (4.1/5), with reviewers calling the system hard to learn and customize
  • Reviewers cite a required yearly contract, a multistep refund process (credits only, no direct refunds in some cases), and slow payment deposits

At a glance

Amilia in four numbers

Recreation-management software for YMCAs, camps, swim schools and parks & rec departments — two published tiers from $99/mo, but the lowest-rated client app in this catalog (1.6/5).

$99

Standard tier, per month, 5,000 accounts

$899

implementation fee, Standard (one-time)

1.6

App Store rating, 77 ratings

4.3

Capterra rating, 148 reviews

01 Amilia

The short verdict

Amilia (product name: SmartRec) is built for a different buyer than the rest of this catalog — YMCAs, JCCs, community and arts centers, parks & recreation departments, camps, swim schools, and youth sports leagues, rather than gyms or studios. Two tiers are published down to the dollar: Standard $99/mo (up to 5,000 active accounts, 10 facilities) and Advanced $499/mo (up to 10,000 accounts, 20 facilities, two premium add-ons included), both carrying a stated 1% service fee on every invoice plus card or eCheck processing. A Custom tier for large public agencies is quote-only.

Implementation is a real cost the headline price hides: $899 for Standard, $2,999 for Advanced, one-time. Capterra rates it 4.3/5 across 148 reviews — solid, though ease of use lags at 4.1/5, with reviewers calling the system hard to learn. The clearest weak spot: the member-facing Amilia app is rated just 1.6/5 across 77 App Store ratings, the lowest member app we have found in this entire catalog.

02 Amilia

Who Amilia is for

  • YMCAs, JCCs, community/arts centers, parks & recreation departments, camps and swim schools

    Not a fit for most gyms or studios elsewhere in this catalog.

  • Organizations that want transaction and implementation costs stated up front

    , not discovered after signing a contract.

  • Youth sports leagues and multi-program community organizations

    needing one system for registration, facilities and payments at scale — up to 10,000 accounts on Advanced.

It is a weaker fit if the member-facing app matters to your families — Amilia's own app is the lowest-rated in this catalog — or if your organization is small and cost-sensitive: implementation alone runs $899–$2,999 before the monthly fee starts, and reviewers describe a required yearly contract.

03 Amilia

Amilia pricing in 2026, explained

We fetched amilia.com/pricing directly on October 8, 2026 to confirm both tiers and the Custom tier's terms.

Amilia (SmartRec) pricing, verified Oct 8, 2026
PlanMonthly priceAccountsFacilitiesImplementation
Standard$99/moUp to 5,000Up to 10$899 one-time
Advanced$499/moUp to 10,000Up to 20$2,999 one-time
CustomQuote-onlyUnlimitedUnlimitedQuote-only

The headline price is not the real floor

A one-time implementation fee of $899 (Standard) or $2,999 (Advanced) sits on top of the monthly subscription and is stated directly on the pricing page — a real cost most "from $X/mo" software ads leave out entirely.

Advanced includes 2 premium add-ons of the buyer's choice (SmartRec Analytics, Community Segments, SmartText, or unlimited API access); Standard can add them on demand at an unpublished price. The page offers preferred nonprofit pricing on request but does not state a discount amount, and does not state annual-vs-monthly billing terms or a contract length.

04 Amilia

What you will really pay

The subscription tiers and per-transaction fees are fully published; the real gap is in billing-term and add-on specifics.

Amilia add-ons and fees (Oct 2026)
ItemPriceNotes
Implementation (Standard)$899 one-timeStated directly on the pricing page
Implementation (Advanced)$2,999 one-timeStated directly on the pricing page
Service fee1% per invoiceCharged on both Standard and Advanced
Card processing2.85%+$0.30 (Standard) / 2.75%+$0.30 (Advanced)Published exactly, unusual for this catalog
eCheck1%+$0.50Both tiers
Extra premium add-onsNot publishedAdvanced includes 2 free; more are "on demand"

For a mid-size recreation department or YMCA on Standard, the realistic first-year cost is roughly $99/mo plus the $899 implementation fee, plus the 1% service fee and card/eCheck processing on every transaction families make — meaningful at volume, and worth modeling against actual registration dollars before signing.

05 Amilia

What the plans include

  • Registration & scheduling

    Program registration, facility booking, multi-location support (10 facilities Standard, 20 Advanced).

  • Online store

    E-commerce for program and merchandise sales — 1 store on Standard, 3 on Advanced.

  • Reporting

    50+ pre-built reports on Advanced, built for recreation and community-program operations specifically.

  • Payments

    Integrated card and eCheck processing, invoicing, and a published service-fee structure.

  • Support

    Email/chat on Standard, live phone and chat plus a strategic account manager on Advanced and Custom.

What is weaker per reviewers: the member-facing app (1.6/5), ease of learning the admin system (4.1/5 on Capterra, the softest of its sub-scores), true guest checkout at point of sale, and a refund process some reviewers describe as credits-only rather than direct refunds.

06 Amilia

What organizations say

Capterra puts Amilia (listed as SmartRec) at 4.3/5 across 148 reviews, with customer service the stronger sub-score at 4.6/5 despite some cited phone wait times. Ease of use is the softer metric at 4.1/5 — multiple reviewers describe the system as difficult to learn and hard to customize to their specific program structure.

The most repeated complaints: a required yearly contract that some reviewers find restrictive for smaller organizations, a multistep refund process (tickets credited back rather than refunded directly in some cases), slow payment deposits, and missing conveniences like true guest checkout at point of sale or a built-in map/availability calendar for campsite-style bookings.

07 Amilia

Amilia vs the alternatives

Recreation & community-program software, by pricing transparency (Oct 2026)
PlatformPricing published?Monthly floorNiche
Amilia (SmartRec)Yes — 2 tiers + fees + implementation cost$99Parks & rec, YMCAs, camps, leagues
MindbodyPartial — "from $79/location," rest reported$79General gym/studio/spa
CourtReserveYes — 3 tiers by court count$199Tennis, pickleball, padel clubs

Amilia has no direct rival in this catalog — it is the only platform built specifically for public recreation departments, YMCAs and camps rather than private gyms or studios. See Amilia vs Mindbody for the comparison against the category's generalist. Full ranking: best gym & studio management software.

Pricing, decoded

What Amilia really costs

Two published tiers (Standard/Advanced) by account and facility ceiling, plus a quote-only Custom tier for large public agencies.

Headline price

$99/mo

What the marketing shows

True monthly cost

$99–$499/mo plus a 1% service fee per invoice, card processing at 2.75–2.85% + $0.30, eCheck at 1% + $0.50, and a one-time implementation fee of $899–$2,999

What you actually pay

Amilia plans: Two published tiers (Standard/Advanced) by account and facility ceiling, plus a quote-only Custom tier for large public agencies
PlanMonthly billingWhat you get
Standard$99/moUp to 5,000 active accounts, 10 facilities, 1 online store, email/chat support, $899 implementation
Advanced$499/moUp to 10,000 active accounts, 20 facilities, 3 online stores, 2 premium add-ons included, phone support, $2,999 implementation

Common add-ons

  • Premium add-ons (Analytics, Community Segments, SmartText, unlimited API)On demand — price not published (2 included free on Advanced)
  • Data migrationQuote-only, varies by data volume
  • Custom / public-agency tierQuote-only — unlimited stores, facilities and accounts

Payment processing

Card processing 2.85%+$0.30 (Standard) or 2.75%+$0.30 (Advanced); eCheck 1%+$0.50; plus a 1% service fee on every invoice regardless of tier

True-cost calculator

See the true monthly cost, not the headline.

120
$12,000
Base plan
$99
Processing (2.85%)
$342
Add-ons
$0
True cost / month
$441

Switch to to see the ~15% savings.

Headline was $99/mo. Estimated — vendor is quote-based.

Honest cons

Who should NOT buy Amilia

  • Anyone prioritizing a well-reviewed member app — Amilia's own app sits at 1.6/5 across 77 App Store ratings, the weakest in this catalog
  • Small organizations sensitive to upfront cost — implementation runs $899 (Standard) to $2,999 (Advanced) on top of the monthly fee, and reviewers cite a required yearly contract
  • Teams wanting a simple learning curve — Capterra's ease-of-use sub-score (4.1/5) is the softest of its ratings, with reviewers calling the system hard to navigate

FAQ

Amilia: frequently asked questions

How much does Amilia (SmartRec) cost in 2026?

Two published tiers: Standard $99/mo (up to 5,000 active accounts, 10 facilities) and Advanced $499/mo (up to 10,000 accounts, 20 facilities). A one-time implementation fee applies on top — $899 for Standard, $2,999 for Advanced — plus a 1% service fee per invoice and card/eCheck processing. Custom pricing for large public agencies is quote-only. Verified against amilia.com/pricing on October 8, 2026.

Is Amilia the same as SmartRec?

Yes. Amilia is the company (Amilia Enterprises Inc.); SmartRec is the name of its recreation-management software product. Review sites like Capterra list it under "SmartRec."

Does Amilia have a mobile app for members?

Yes, but it is the lowest-rated member app we found in this catalog — 1.6/5 across 77 App Store ratings. The app lets members view schedules, confirm locations and access a virtual membership card.

Does Amilia have an affiliate or publisher program?

Amilia lists a "Partners" page, but it describes technology and business partnerships (integration partners like Salesforce and Zapier) rather than a publisher affiliate program with stated commission terms. We could not confirm a publisher affiliate program at the time of this review.

How does Amilia compare to Mindbody?

Amilia is built specifically for public recreation departments, YMCAs, camps and youth leagues — a niche Mindbody does not target. Amilia publishes two full tiers with implementation costs stated; Mindbody publishes only a partial "from $79/location" headline. See the full head-to-head.

How we verified this review

We fetched amilia.com/pricing directly to confirm both published tiers, the per-transaction fee structure, and the stated implementation costs. We separately checked the Amilia homepage and the Capterra listing (which uses the product name "SmartRec") to confirm the company-vs-product naming, and deliberately excluded unrelated "Amelia" products (a WordPress booking plugin and a conversational-AI company) that surfaced in generic searches under a near-identical name — a name-collision check consistent with every review in this catalog. The App Store listing (developer: Entreprises Amilia Inc Les) was checked directly to confirm the 1.6/5 rating across 77 ratings. We checked the amilia.com/partners page directly and could not confirm a publisher affiliate program with stated commission terms, unlike Arbox's. Scores follow our published methodology.

Related

Compare Amilia with the alternatives

Similar platforms

6.9

Is Amilia your pick?

Take the quiz to see how it stacks up against your exact needs, or check the live pricing on their site.