#22 in gymGym & studio management#32 of 36 overall

Rock Gym Pro review

The climbing-gym specialist — a published pricing matrix of hosting mode × feature tier × seat count, from $115/mo self-hosted to $550/mo cloud.

Rock Gym Pro (RGP) is the climbing-gym management specialist — built in 2007 by a climbing-gym owner to solve his own front-desk problem, and still the category's default choice today. Pricing is published in unusual detail: two hosting modes (Cloud or Self-Hosted) each have three feature tiers (Standard, Plus, Premium) across three seat-count bands (up to 3, 6 or 12 users), for nine real numbers per hosting mode and zero setup fees anywhere. Cloud runs $180–$550/mo per facility; Self-Hosted, for gyms with their own IT resources, starts lower at $115/mo. The trade-off for that depth: the interface is functional but dated by reviewer consensus, and the member-facing app, RGPro Connect, carries a weak 1.8/5 rating across 146 App Store ratings.

Climbing gyms and bouldering facilities — the category's long-standing specialist, not a general gym tool adapted to the nicheOperations with in-house IT that want the cheaper Self-Hosted option (from $115/mo) instead of CloudGyms that want a genuinely published price for every combination of features and staff seats, with no setup fee at any tier
Visit Rock Gym Pro See the true costPrices verified Oct 6, 2026

Great

FitBizStack score · 6 weighted factors

Headline

$115/mo

True cost

$115–$550/mo

Advertising disclosure. We may earn a commission when you sign up through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Commissions never influence our scores or rankings — editorial independence is the whole point.

Scorecard

How we scored Rock Gym Pro

Six weighted categories. Weights are published and identical for every platform.

Value for money25% weight
7.0
Features & depth22% weight
8.8
Ease of use16% weight
6.5
Client / member experience15% weight
4.5
Pricing transparency12% weight
8.8
Support & onboarding10% weight
7.0

What we like

  • Nine published prices per hosting mode (3 feature tiers × 3 seat bands) — one of the most granular, fully disclosed pricing grids in this catalog, with "No Set Up Fees" stated outright
  • Self-Hosted option starts at $115/mo for gyms with their own IT resources — meaningfully cheaper than the $180/mo Cloud floor
  • Deep, climbing-specific feature set refined since 2007: integrated digital waivers, multi-gym functionality, EFT/ACH recurring billing, custom report queries, auto POS check-in
  • 10% discount published for nonprofit organizations
  • The long-standing default in its niche — originally built by a climbing-gym owner to solve his own facility's problem

What we don’t

  • RGPro Connect, the member-facing app, is rated just 1.8/5 across 146 App Store ratings — a real weak point for the client-facing side of the business
  • No published card-processing percentage — a Merchant Account with OpenEdge or Stripe is required, but the actual rate is not disclosed
  • Interface is functional but visually dated by reviewer consensus, with a steep initial learning curve given how many features and buttons it packs in
  • Reviewers flag frequent logouts and occasional waiver/certification data loss, plus wifi-related disruptions at check-in stations

At a glance

Rock Gym Pro in four numbers

The climbing-gym specialist — a published pricing matrix of hosting mode × feature tier × seat count, from $115/mo self-hosted to $550/mo cloud.

$115

Self-Hosted Standard, per facility/mo

9

published prices per hosting mode

4.5

Capterra rating, 10 reviews

1.8

App Store rating, member app (146 ratings)

01 Rock Gym Pro

The short verdict

Rock Gym Pro (RGP) is the climbing-gym management specialist — built in 2007 by a climbing-gym owner to solve his own facility's front-desk problem, and still the category's long-standing default today. Its pricing is published in unusual detail: two hosting modes (Cloud or Self-Hosted) × three feature tiers (Standard, Plus, Premium) × three staff-seat bands (up to 3, 6 or 12 users) — nine real, published numbers per hosting mode, with "No Set Up Fees" stated outright.

Cloud runs $180–$550/mo per facility; Self-Hosted, aimed at gyms with their own IT resources, starts lower at $115/mo. The trade-off for that pricing depth and niche-specific feature set: reviewers call the interface functional but visually dated, and RGPro Connect, the member-facing app, carries a weak 1.8/5 rating across 146 App Store ratings.

02 Rock Gym Pro

Who Rock Gym Pro is for

  • Climbing gyms and bouldering facilities

    RGP is the long-standing specialist in this niche, not a general gym tool adapted to it.

  • Operations with in-house IT resources

    that want the cheaper Self-Hosted option ($115–$450/mo) instead of Cloud.

  • Gyms that want a genuinely transparent quote

    Every combination of hosting mode, feature tier and seat count has a published price, with zero setup fees.

It is a weaker fit if the member-facing app experience matters to your brand (RGPro Connect is poorly rated), if you want a modern-looking interface out of the box, or if your gym runs large flexible-headcount group bookings — reviewers specifically call that workflow a weak point.

03 Rock Gym Pro

Rock Gym Pro pricing in 2026, explained

We fetched the raw HTML of rockgympro.com/pricing directly on October 6, 2026 to confirm every published number across both tabs on the page — Cloud Pricing and Self-Hosted Pricing — since the page uses a seat-count selector that reveals a different Standard/Plus/Premium price set depending on how many user seats you pick.

Rock Gym Pro Cloud pricing, verified Oct 6, 2026 (per facility)
SeatsStandardPlusPremium
Up to 3$180/mo$275/mo$385/mo
Up to 6$215/mo$330/mo$450/mo
Up to 12$315/mo$430/mo$550/mo
Rock Gym Pro Self-Hosted pricing, verified Oct 6, 2026 (per facility, 3-seat band shown)
PlanMonthlyAdds
Standard$115/moMobile dashboard, integrated billing, document scanning, advanced reports
Plus$210/moDigital waivers, multi-gym functionality, custom reports, 1 hour of escalated support
Premium$320/moOnline gift cards, bookings & events scheduling, resource management

Cloud vs Self-Hosted

Cloud means RGP hosts your database on its own servers; Self-Hosted means you run RGP on your own server and network, which RGP's own FAQ recommends only "if you are new and have the necessary IT resources." Self-Hosted is cheaper at every matching tier, but shifts hosting/maintenance work onto your gym.

Need more than 12 seats? RGP asks you to contact them directly rather than publishing a price — the only gap in an otherwise fully published matrix. A 10% discount is published for nonprofit organizations, with documentation.

04 Rock Gym Pro

What you will really pay

The subscription matrix itself is unusually well published; the one real gap is payment processing.

Rock Gym Pro add-ons and fees (Oct 2026)
ItemPriceNotes
Payment processingNot publishedRequires a Merchant Account with OpenEdge or Stripe for card/ACH; the percentage rate is not disclosed
Setup fee$0None at any tier — stated outright as "No Set Up Fees"
Nonprofit discount10% offRequires documentation (organization website + tax ID)
13+ user seatsCustom quoteContact RGP directly

For a single-facility climbing gym, the realistic monthly range is $115–$385/mo depending on hosting mode, feature tier and seat count, plus whatever your merchant account charges for card processing — a number RGP does not publish up front.

05 Rock Gym Pro

What the plans include

  • Front desk

    Mobile dashboard, point-of-sale with gift cards and quick keys, auto POS check-in, document scanning and classification.

  • Billing

    Integrated recurring monthly billing (EFT/ACH via a Merchant Account), on-account sales and invoicing, prorated products.

  • Operations

    (Plus/Premium): digital waivers and documents (free Smartwaiver integration), multi-gym functionality for chains, custom reports from queries, staff time clock, audit log.

  • Bookings

    (Premium): online bookings integration, events scheduling, booking confirmation emails, custom iCal feeds, resource management.

  • Reporting

    Advanced charting and reports, membership retention and customer activity analysis, QuickBooks Desktop export.

What is missing or weak: no published payment-processing rate, no branded white-label app of your own (members use the generic RGPro Connect app), and reviewers specifically call out group-booking workflows and the overall interface polish as behind more modern platforms.

06 Rock Gym Pro

What gym owners say

Capterra puts Rock Gym Pro at 4.5/5 across 10 reviews; G2 shows a similar 4.5/5 across 3 reviews — both small samples, typical for a deep vertical-specialist tool with a concentrated customer base. Reviewers consistently praise the all-in-one consolidation of POS, check-in, data entry and scheduling into one system, and describe it as "easy to teach" to new staff despite the feature density.

The most repeated complaints: group-booking workflows that require juggling multiple windows ("booking groups in RGP is a nightmare" per one reviewer), a dated visual interface, occasional forced logouts, and wifi-related disruptions at check-in stations. Separately, RGPro Connect (developer: 3Point Development Inc), the member-facing app, is rated just 1.8/5 across 146 App Store ratings — a much larger sample than the B2B review count, and a clear signal worth weighing before committing.

07 Rock Gym Pro

Rock Gym Pro vs the alternatives

Niche vs. generalist gym software, by pricing transparency (Oct 2026)
PlatformPricing published?Monthly floorBuilt for
Rock Gym ProYes — 9 prices per hosting mode$115Climbing gyms specifically
MindbodyNo — quote-only beyond a $79 starting figure$79 (quoted)General gyms, studios, salons and spas

Rock Gym Pro and Mindbody sit at opposite ends of both specialization and transparency — RGP is a deep climbing-gym specialist with a fully published pricing matrix, Mindbody is a broad multi-vertical generalist that quotes almost everything past its $79 starting figure. See Rock Gym Pro vs Mindbody for the full trade-off. Full ranking: best gym & studio management software.

Pricing, decoded

What Rock Gym Pro really costs

A published matrix: Cloud or Self-Hosted hosting mode × Standard/Plus/Premium feature tier × up to-3/6/12 user-seat band, all per facility. No setup fees at any combination..

Headline price

$115/mo

What the marketing shows

True monthly cost

$115–$550/mo per facility depending on hosting mode, feature tier and seat count — Self-Hosted Standard (3 seats) is the $115 floor; Cloud Premium (12 seats) is the $550 ceiling

What you actually pay

Rock Gym Pro plans: A published matrix: Cloud or Self-Hosted hosting mode × Standard/Plus/Premium feature tier × up to-3/6/12 user-seat band, all per facility. No setup fees at any combination.
PlanMonthly billingWhat you get
Self-Hosted Standard$115/moUp to 3 seats; requires your own server/IT resources
Cloud Standard$180/moUp to 3 seats; RGP hosts your database
Cloud Plus$275/moUp to 6 seats; adds digital waivers, multi-gym functionality, custom reports
Cloud Premium$385/moUp to 12 seats; adds gift cards, bookings & events scheduling

Common add-ons

  • More than 12 user seatsContact RGP for a custom quote
  • Nonprofit discount10% off, with documentation

Payment processing

Requires a Merchant Account with OpenEdge or Stripe for card/ACH processing (OpenEdge limited to US/Canada) — the actual percentage rate is not published

True-cost calculator

See the true monthly cost, not the headline.

120
$12,000
Base plan
$275
Processing (2.90%)
$348
Add-ons
$0
True cost / month
$623

Switch to to see the ~15% savings.

Headline was $115/mo. Estimated — vendor is quote-based.

Honest cons

Who should NOT buy Rock Gym Pro

  • Anyone who wants the member-facing app well reviewed — RGPro Connect sits at 1.8/5 across 146 App Store ratings
  • Owners who prioritize a modern, polished interface — reviewers call the GUI dated even while praising its functionality
  • Gyms with large group-booking needs — "booking groups in RGP is a nightmare" according to one reviewer, requiring multiple windows for flexible headcounts

FAQ

Rock Gym Pro: frequently asked questions

How much does Rock Gym Pro cost in 2026?

A published matrix: Cloud runs $180–$550/mo per facility (Standard/Plus/Premium × up-to-3/6/12 seats); Self-Hosted runs $115–$450/mo for gyms with their own IT resources. No setup fees at any tier. Verified against the raw rockgympro.com/pricing page source on October 6, 2026.

What is the difference between RGP Cloud and Self-Hosted?

Cloud means Rock Gym Pro hosts your database on its own servers; Self-Hosted means you run the software on your own server and network. Self-Hosted is cheaper at every matching tier, but RGP's own FAQ recommends it only for gyms with the necessary IT resources.

Does Rock Gym Pro publish its payment processing rate?

No. RGP requires a Merchant Account with OpenEdge or Stripe for card and ACH processing, but does not disclose the actual percentage rate anywhere on its public pricing page.

Is the Rock Gym Pro member app any good?

RGPro Connect, the member-facing app (developer: 3Point Development Inc), is rated 1.8/5 across 146 App Store ratings at the time of this review — a clear weak point on the client-facing side.

What is the best software for a climbing gym?

Rock Gym Pro is the long-standing specialist for climbing gyms and bouldering facilities, built in 2007 by a climbing-gym owner. No other platform in this catalog is built specifically for the niche.

Does Rock Gym Pro have an affiliate program?

We found no publisher affiliate or partner program for Rock Gym Pro at the time of this review.

How we verified this review

We fetched the raw HTML of rockgympro.com/pricing directly, capturing both the Cloud Pricing and Self-Hosted Pricing tabs and all three seat-count bands behind the page's selector, to confirm all nine published Cloud prices and all three published Self-Hosted prices rather than relying on a third-party summary (which, in one case we checked, had cached an unrelated product's pricing under the same page title). We separately verified the member-facing app under its real name, RGPro Connect (not the similarly-described but unrelated "Rock Gyms" app from a different developer, K Cor Ditmars LLC, which we ruled out first) before citing its App Store rating. Capterra and G2 ratings were checked against their own primary pages the same day. Scores follow our published methodology. No publisher affiliate program could be found.

Related

Compare Rock Gym Pro with the alternatives

Similar platforms

7.2

Is Rock Gym Pro your pick?

Take the quiz to see how it stacks up against your exact needs, or check the live pricing on their site.